When I first started knitting 7 years ago this month (a big shout-out to Jax for teaching me how to knit), I was immediately addicted to the craft.  I knitted in all my spare time and couldn’t wait to see my final project whatever that might have been.  Novelty yarns were in their hey day and my mother was the recipient of many sparkly, metallic, fuzzy scarves.

Then in 2007 came the self-striping yarns and the addictive Brooklyn Tweed Noro scarf.  I had to see what color came next, I couldn’t put down that project.  I was addicted to color.

Yarns changed, my skill level increased and my knitting time decreased with the demands placed upon me by Stix and my delightful teenagers.  I love to knit lace which takes complete focus but it is not addictive because you really don’t get the “ah ha” moment until after the project is blocked.   I had become complacent about the craft and had fallen into a bit of  a rut with my knitting-making cable hats and quick neck warmers for gifts.

BUT… then I took Haven’s Newsprint Cowl class.  I was certain that I wouldn’t take to the technique.  I don’t “care for” similar techniques like linen stitch because I can’t be bothered to keep track of which row I’m on.  But OMG! I love doing this brioche thing! I love the yarn that I chose for this project- a cashmere blend that Stix carried 5 years ago that has been patiently waiting in my personal stash for that perfect project.  I love the squishyness of the fabric that I am creating.  I love the look of the two colors so close together.  I like the two rows, personally preferring the purl row which is a bit of a surprise.  (Who prefers to purl?)

Granted, I haven’t gotten that far since Tuesday’s class , but it has spurred me to finish a lace project and to work on a top-down raglan sweater that will use up stash yarn too.

To put it simply, I am addicted!

(And I’m not the only one.)